BreakingEthiopiaHouse of FederationNews

#Breaking: Six zones and five special woredas to hold a referendum

Members of the House; Image: House of Federation

Addis Abeba: The House of Federation (HoF) accepts the request of Wolaita, Gamo, Gofa, South Omo, Konso and Gedeo zones along with Derashe, Amaro, Burji, Ale, and Basketo special woredas to be reconstituted into one regional state.

Accordingly, the House passed a decision to hold a referendum on the request to form a new regional state. Directions have been set to have the National Election Board of Ethiopia (NEBE) conduct the referendum and notify the House of the outcome.

Meanwhile, it was said that Hadiya, Halaba, Kambata-Tambaro, Gurage, and Silte zones as well as Yem special woreda would continue in the current regional arrangement.

Source: FBC

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button