AUC formed a Commission of Inquiry to look into rights abuses in South Sudan

Mahlet Fasil

The African Union Commission (AUC) established a Commission of Inquiry to investigate human rights violations and other abuses committed during the recent conflict in South Sudan.

According to AUC Chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma the Inquiry Committee will have five-members and is headed by former Nigerian President Olusegun Obasanjo. Chairperson Dlamini Zuma said the Commission was established based on a decision by the AU Peace and Security Council (PSC). The five members of the Inquiry in South Sudan are: Olusegun Obasanjo – Chairperson of the Commission, Lady Justice Sophia A.B. Akuffo, President and Justice of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights based in Arusha, Professor Mahmood Mamdani, Ms. Bineta Diop, and Professor Pacifique Manirakiza The chairperson further said the the AU will continue to support Intergovernmental Authority on Development, IGAD, the main pace facilitator in South Sudan, in its continued mediation efforts to end the ongoing hostilities and find sustainable solutions using political and diplomatic means.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker